Seniors receive awards, scholarship at assembly

Seniors in caps and gowns pose as friends and families take pictures

Families and friends of the class of 2024 gathered in the high school auditorium on Wednesday, June 12, for the annual Senior Assembly.

The annual event recognizes the members of the senior class and the awards and scholarships they are receiving.

The evening also featured musical performances, the presentation of the class gift, the exchange of the Senior Class Gavel from the Class of 2024 to the Class of 2025 and more

The following scholarship awards were presented:

  • Worden Family Scholarship: Lorna DeWitt
  • Beaverkill Foundation Awards: Nevaeh Davis, Sincere Warren and Cristian Vargas
  • Ed Wolff Memorial Scholarship: Julia Juron
  • Lorraine Carrington Memorial Scholarship: Zoe Kip
  • Robert Travis Service Award: Haley Gill and Brooke Hessinger
  • Sullivan County Shields Scholarship: Mia Barragan
  • STEAM Fund Music Achievement Awards in Memory of Lee and Marge Siegel: Jayla Edwards, Julia Juron and Elaina-Louise Ramirez
  • Community Foundation for Orange & Sullivan County Award and Liberty Rotary Scholarships:
    • Peter Cahalan Scholarship: Yuridia Cristino Lopez
    • LRC Community Service Award Sponsored by BLS Law, Rhulen/Loughlin Family, Foster Supply Hospitality: Elaina-Louise Ramirez
    • LRC Community Service Award Sponsored by Colonial Ramsey Funeral Home & The Misner Agency: Mia Barragan
    • LRC Community Service Award Sponsored by Kaplan Custom Cabinets & STEAM Fund at CFOS: Erin Skinner
    • LRC Richard H. Fosler Achievement Award Sponsored by Pepsi Co/Frito Lay Northeast: Jumana Abu Al Ghanam
    • LRC Community Service Award in Memory of Theresa Panny Sponsored by New Hope Community Foundation: Yuridia Cristino Lopez
    • LRC Community Service Award in memory of Carmela Starpoli Sponsored by Leadership Sullivan: Zoe Kip
    • LRC Community Service Award in memory of Bob Blank Sponsored by County Petroleum: Lorna DeWitt
    • LRC Community Service Award Sponsored by Mike Martucci: Liliana Ines Leon
    • LRC Interact Honorarium Sponsored by E.G. Kopcha & H.A. Wasserman: Jumana Abu Al Ghanam
    • LRC Member Graduate Award Sponsored by Liberty Rotary Club: Enrique Mercado
  • The Daniel Thalmann Memorial: Adam Houser and Samuel Olivares-Reyes
  • Liberty Fire Department Ladies’ Auxiliary Scholarship: Erin Skinner
  • PTA Scholarship: David Philips
  • Liberty Elks Lodge Citizenship Awards: Lorna DeWitt and Claudia Herzog
  • Christopher Pekny Memorial Scholarship: Jake Parks
  • Sullivan County Highway Superintendent Scholarship: Lorna DeWitt
  • Brian Ingber Memorial Scholarship: Claudia Herzog
  • Sullivan County Postmasters Association Scholarship Award: Lorna DeWitt
  • I Can and I Will Award: Noellia Cruz Cruz
  • LPA Scholarship: Nathan Desrochers
  • Music Department Scholarships: Rayanna Cottman, Jake Luna Guzman and Jayla Edwards
  • Ron Francisco Memorial Scholarship Sponsored by the Liberty Central School Phys. Ed. Department: Mya Huebsch, Enrique Mercado, Riley Totten
  • Liberty Booster Club Scholarships: Noellia Cruz Cruz, Nathan Desrochers, Zoe Kip and David Philips
  • Student Mentorship Program Awards: Mia Barragan, Yuridia Cristino Lopez, Noellia Cruz Cruz, Jake Luna Guzman, Josue Nunura Galan, Lesly Panama, Ronny Rivas, Stefany Sandoval, Benjamin Valladares and Maylluri Vinocunga Llano.
  • Liberty Faculty Association Scholarships in Memory of George Hutchinson: Celia Golden, Maria Abreu, Jumana Abu Al Ghanam, Mia Barragan, Noellia Cruz Cruz, Nathan Desrochers, Lorna DeWitt, Cara DiBartolo, Haley Gill, Claudia Herzog, Julia Juron, Zoe Kip, Aylin Leon Martinez, Josue Nunura Galan, Lesly Panama, David Philips and Erin Skinner
  • Scholarships for Academic Excellence: Jumana Abu Al Ghanam, Julia Juron, Erin Skinner and Benjamin Visconti.

The Top Ten Students of the Class of 2024 was also recognized as follows: 10. Claudia Herzog; 9. David Philips; 8. Elaina-Louise Ramirez; 7. Jayla Edwards; 6. Mia Barragan; 5. Sincere Warren; 4. Erin Skinner; 3. Julia Juron; 2. (Salutatorian) Jumana Abu Al Ghanam; 1. (Valedictorian) Benjamin Visconti.

See more photos on our social media sites.