shortcut to content

Liberty Central School District masthead logo

Visit our schoolsto Liberty Elementary home pageto Liberty Middle School home pageto Liberty High School home pageright edge border
shadow box top edge

Voters to elect three Board of Education members May 17

tabs box bottom border

On Tuesday, May 17, Liberty Central School District voters will choose three district residents to serve on the Liberty Board of Education from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2019.

Residents must collect at least 25 signatures from qualified school district voters to be placed on the ballot. Petitions must be filed by 5 p.m. April 18, 2016 in the district clerk's office, 115 Buckley Street, Liberty. Contact District Clerk Tania DeFrank at (845) 292-6990 for a nominating petition.

The three seats for re-election are currently held by Andrew Kavleski, John Nichols and Philip Olsen.

The Liberty Board of Education is comprised of nine school district residents elected by voters. Each board member is elected to a three-year term. Board members are not financially compensated.

The Board is the official policy-making body of the school district. It is responsible for carrying out the laws and regulations pertaining to the education of children living within the district. The Board adopts district policy, curriculum, programs of study, and approves the hiring of all personnel, as well as establishing the conditions of employment.The Board is also responsible for maintaining district facilities, establishing an annual budget, and setting a tax levy.

To qualify for Board membership, an individual must be:

1. able to read and write;

2. a citizen of the United States;

3. at least 18 years of age;

4. a qualified voter of the district; and

5. a resident of the school district for at least one year prior to election.

No employee of the school district may be a member of the Board, except as permitted by law. No more than one member of a family shall be a member of the same Board of Education.

Learn more about the Liberty Board of Education here. For more information, contact District Clerk Tania DeFrank at (845) 292-6990 or

tabs box bottom border
blank space graphic
shadow box bottom edge